Penguin Watch Talk

Deer

• Ips by Ips

It got suggested that his animal is a reindeer, and while I am no expert on deer I am doubtful. If this really is a reindeer, it is a very odd one. It lacks the trademark wide snow-shoe hooves and it lacks the equally trademark wide muzzle with slit-like nostrils that can be closed against snow and help heat up air. The headshape seems entirely wrong to me. Is there any other deer species present at the location?

Posted

• Nickypeng by Nickypeng moderator

Hi Ips
    I have no expertise at all with reindeer,but the scientists have identified them for us. I will pass this on to them and see if they can provide more information.

Posted

• yshish by yshish moderator, translator in response to Ips's comment.

Hi! I haven't actually found any evidence of other deer species living there. Here is an interesting text about the reindeer situation on the South Georgia from 2013: http://en.mercopress.com/2013/03/19/south-georgia-completes-first-phase-of-reindeer-eradication-1.900-animals Could ask the scientists anyway..

Thanks for the question,

Zuzi

Posted

• mkmcguir by mkmcguir

Many different kinds of reindeer...

Posted

• DZM by DZM admin

Hm, it seems that this question never got answered! I will pass it along to a scientist. Thanks!!

Posted

• gardenmaeve by gardenmaeve moderator

Reindeer physical types can vary- I read of one localized population elsewhere with very short legs and rounded bodies. I suggest this is indeed a reindeer, perhaps young and in the summer coat. There are no other deer family members in this area.

Posted

• AvastMH by AvastMH moderator

There is a comment in this article: https://www.dur.ac.uk/biosciences/postgrad/current_phd/rhoelzeldeer14/